Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

The New Richland Historic Preservation Commission was developed in April of 2002.  The board of commissioners consists of five (5) members, shall be nominated by the New Richland City Council; one shall be nomianted by the New Richland Area Historical Society.  All members are appointed by the City Council.  If interested please e-mail or call the city hall at (507)465-3514.

The most recent project the Historic Preservation Commission has been involved in is nominating the Oddfellows Building on the National Register of Historic Places.  An application for a grant has been submitted to renevate the building.

The purpose of the Historic Preservation Commission is to:

  • engage in a comprehensive program of historical resources of the City of New Richland.
  • to disignate heritage preservation sites.
  • act  in a resource and advisory capacity to the City Council and the Planning and Zoning Board on matters relating to heritage preservation
  • act in a resource and advisory capacity to owners of historically significant sites regarding their preservation, restoration and rehabilitation.
  • promote the continueing education of the residents of New Richland with respect to the civic and architechtural heritage of the City of New Richland.
  • maintain a public resgister of designated and proposed heritage preservation sites.
  • such other duties and responsiblities as determined by the City Council.


Historic Preservation Committee Members
Bernie Anderson
Charles Espe
Barb Wildgrube
** Vacancy **
** Vacancy **
Oddfellows Building
Oddfellows Building